Summer IPA Series! First up- Harpoon IPA

Leave a comment

May 9, 2013 by kylelecl

Hey guys, last night to celebrate being back in Brooklyn for the summer, I popped open a few brews with an old buddy of mine while we watched the Rangers beat the pulp out of the Caps last night to tie the series, woohoo! Anyway I decided that because I was back in the 718, I had to have an IPA because it was here in BKLYN that I enjoyed my first ever IPA. I picked up a pack of Harpoon‘s rendition of the India Pale Ale, and deliciousness ensued.

Popping open my bottle, I got some piney hoppy aromas, with some slight malty notes. On my first sip, I got a very subtle hops blend, not too overpowering, countered with a big malt presence that smoothed down the mixture to make a nice lighter IPA than I’m not used too. The after taste was a mix of bitter hops and slight tangy lemon peels.

Harpoon-IPA-Bottle-Glass

I liked the body of this beer, very big and bubbly, super carbonated, really had a crisp refreshing quality to it. This beer has a great copper color, with a decent sized head.For a summer IPA this beer was hitting all the right notes, sometimes you get just way too much floral hoppiness that tends to over saturate the ale, but here we have a nice mix of toasted malts with some fragrant hops that go well together, and help to mask a 5.9% alcohol content. All in all i liked this beer, its an easy drinker especially for a nice sunny day in summer.

Harpoon-IPA-Back-Label

Overall rating: 3.8 sunny hoppy days out of 5

thanks for reading guys, if you want to learn more about Harpoon IPA click the link below, and as always,

Slainte!

http://www.harpoonbrewery.com/beer/1/Harpoon-IPA

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14 other followers

Next Beer of the Week!

The Big DaySeptember 9th, 2013
The big day is here.

Kyle LeClaire and Jason Kress

Contact me!

(347)-414-3415
M-F:5-11pm
S-5pm-12am
Sun- 12pm-9pm

The vault

